A Touch from God

June 12, 2024

A Touch from God

Nehemiah 8:8-9

So they read in the book in the law of God distinctly, and gave the sense, and caused [them] to understand the reading.  And Nehemiah, which [is] the Tirshatha, and Ezra the priest the scribe, and the Levites that taught the people, said unto all the people, This day [is] holy unto the LORD your God; mourn not, nor weep. For all the people wept, when they heard the words of the law.

Softly He touched my heart and tears began to fall,

Down my cheek, they streamed with an ever-increasing flow.

All that mess within me that I had denied so long,

Now burst the dam of self-restraint, I had to let it go.

My body shook as great sobs uncontrollably came,

It was as if my soul was opened and His light shown in,

His love had touched me in an undeniable way,

His mercy covered me as He washed away my sin.

With total humility I lay bowed down before Him,

He stripped away my unrighteous selfish cloak,

He clothed me with righteousness in place of my sin.

With the blood of the lamb, He washed this wicked goat.

Within my heart He shone brighter than the sun.

He saw past my faults and met my need.

As fuller brush cleans, so His Holy fire burned.

In place of all the weeds, He planted His holy seed.

Now every day I want to experience the wonders of His grace,

I want to know so much more of the Presence in that place.

The desire for righteousness now fills my heart,

As His steadfast love and holy fire fill my inward parts.

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a comment