The Light before Me

July 24, 2017

Psalms 119:105

Thy word [is] a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

The Light before Me

This morning, it was before dawn that I was on a little run.  As I turned the corner and headed up the street, straight before me, in the distance on a hill was the lighted steeple of a church.  Immediately I thought of that scripture in Philippians 3:13-14, “Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but [this] one thing [I do], forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”  I thought this is so symbolic of our journey through life.  As I ran on and started up a hill, my breathing became more frequent and heavy as I felt the strain.  Again, I thought how the Lord is with us each step of the way.  We must keep Him as the lamp for our feet and the light unto our path so that we will not stumble, falter or fail in our course.  He is the One who is the inner strength in those times when we are pulling the hills of life and things are hard.  Sometimes we are breathless and we feel we can’t keep going, but we turn within and draw our strength from the Lord.  We tap into that life and source that is not of our flesh, but which is our strength to take us where we could not reach. 

Raise your head and see that beacon on the hill before you.  That is Mount Zion, the city of our God and King.  Keep running, don’t quit, He is the power and life to bring you to your destination.  Our journey is the preparation for what He is bringing us into.

“Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform [it] until the day of Jesus Christ. (Philippians 1:6)”

 

blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

