I AM

January 30, 2017

I AM

John 18:1-8

When he had finished praying, Jesus left with his disciples and crossed the Kidron Valley. On the other side there was an olive grove, and he and his disciples went into it. 

2Now Judas, who betrayed him, knew the place, because Jesus had often met there with his disciples. 3So Judas came to the grove, guiding a detachment of soldiers and some officials from the chief priests and Pharisees. They were carrying torches, lanterns and weapons. 

4Jesus, knowing all that was going to happen to him, went out and asked them, “Who is it you want?” 

5″Jesus of Nazareth,” they replied. 

“I am he,” Jesus said. (And Judas the traitor was standing there with them.) 6When Jesus said, “I am he,” they drew back and fell to the ground. 

7Again he asked them, “Who is it you want?” 

And they said, “Jesus of Nazareth.” 

8″I told you that I am he,” Jesus answered. “If you are looking for me, then let these men go.” 9This happened so that the words he had spoken would be fulfilled: “I have not lost one of those you gave me.”

When Moses met with God at the burning bush in Exodus 3:13-14, “And Moses said unto God, Behold, [when] I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What [is] his name? what shall I say unto them? And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.”  How great is our God that is everything to every one of us.  As we go through the Word of God, we just see time after time how God was the provision, the providence and Divine Provider.  These are some of the statements that God made to Abram, “After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I [am] thy shield, [and] thy exceeding great reward.”  “And he said unto him, I [am] the LORD that brought thee out of Ur of the Chaldees, to give thee this land to inherit it.”  “And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I [am] the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.” 

God said to Moses in Exodus 6:2, “And God spake unto Moses, and said unto him, I [am] the LORD:”  “I Am that I Am” speaks of everything that God is and that is contained in Him.  Which of us can fathom the depths of the great “I AM”?  His character is unfolded and revealed as we read through the Word of God.  We see how He delivers His people from their enemies, how He provides for their needs in wilderness where so many people, abide so long in a place that could not begin to support them in the natural.  We see God as  “I Am” in the righteous judgements He carries out. We also see Him in His mercy and lovingkindness.  When we come to the New Testament and Christ is revealed we see God revealed as, “I AM LOVE” in Christ.  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever would believe upon Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. (John 3:16)” This Jesus Christ of Nazareth, was the “I AM” incarnate, in human flesh and form.  Mark 8 :27 –28 says, “And Jesus went out, and his disciples, into the towns of Caesarea Philippi: and by the way he asked his disciples, saying unto them, Whom do men say that I am?  And he saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Peter answereth and saith unto him, Thou art the Christ.”  

Finally at the end of Jesus’ days when he is taken into custody and He asked the soldiers who they sought when they come after Him.  They said, “Jesus of Nazareth” and He said, “I AM” He.  So powerful was that “I AM” when He spoke of who He was that soldiers were knocked back and fell to the ground.  If there was that much power in Jesus just saying who He was, is there any doubt that the power that resided in Christ could have easily defeated any attempts to arrest or abduct him.  

Today Christ stands in God on the resurrected side of Calvary.  He is still declaring to mankind and to His people, “I AM, THAT I AM”.  

Whatever you need or whatever your circumstance God is “I AM” for you.  He is everything that you need to take you through whatever you have to face or whatever is pressing upon you.  He is always the “I AM” for you.

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

