Sticking Together

September 9, 2016

Sticking Together

Matthew 19:5-6

and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’]? 6So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.” 

Remember when we first met?

When we spent that time together falling in love?

I knew you were the woman that I needed to get.

You were that woman I had been dreaming of. 

Remember when I nervously proposed?

You smiled and said yes,

We had no idea of the future I suppose,

All that I knew was that I was happy and blessed.

When we think back of all we’ve been through,

We both know the grace of God has kept us together,

The blessings were many, but there were trials, more than a few.

Times I didn’t know if we would survive the stormy weather.

Have I always loved you, yes.

Have we always felt in love, no.

There are times when we don’t feel blessed,

There are times we want to pack our bags and go.

Yet, we both knew that God had set us as one,

We’ve often questioned,  “What was God thinking?”

We are so different and life together isn’t always fun.

But one of us has lifted the other in the times one was sinking.

The storms of life and marriage have many casualties.

But it is the bond of God’s love alone that can see us through.

Many times we may have given up, becoming another marriage fatality.

God’s love and grace was greater than what we were able to do.

I thank God that you are still by my side.

I thank God for a woman that has loved me like you.

We both thank the Lord that He has been our guide

We both would be in the ditch of life had He not been true.

We are still conforming to one another’s ways.

We don’t always feel love or act the way we should.

We still struggle, fuss and have our off days.

But God’s love is the glue that sticks together these two pieces of wood.

As we grow older I see we need each other even more,

We have to be the strength in one another’s needs.

You are still that young girl that my heart longs for.

You are my garden and the precious fruit upon which I feed.

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

