Who am I?

August 31, 2016

Judges 6:11-16

11One day an angel from the LORD went to the town of Ophrah and sat down under the big tree that belonged to Joash, a member of the Abiezer clan. Joash’s son Gideon was nearby, threshing grain in a shallow pit, where he could not be seen by the Midianites. 

12The angel appeared and spoke to Gideon, ” The LORD is helping you, and you are a strong warrior.” 

13Gideon answered, ” Please don’t take this wrong, but if the LORD is helping us, then why have all of these awful things happened? We’ve heard how the LORD performed miracles and rescued our ancestors from Egypt. But those things happened long ago. Now the LORD has abandoned us to the Midianites.” 

14Then the LORD himself said, ” Gideon, you will be strong, because I am giving you the power to rescue Israel from the Midianites.” 

15Gideon replied, ” But how can I rescue Israel? My clan is the weakest one in Manasseh, and everyone else in my family is more important than I am.” 

16″ Gideon,” the LORD answered, ” you can rescue Israel because I am going to help you! Defeating the Midianites will be as easy as beating up one man.” 

Who am I?

When trying to gain God’s mind, wisdom and will in a large decision in my life I was reminded of Gideon.   As I struggled with my decision and prayed about it I could see that my greatest fears, doubts and reservations were of myself.  I fear failure, making the wrong decision, the changing world and economy and so the doubts continue to race through my mind.   My greatest reservations are not of God, but of myself.  I, like Gideon of the Old Testament, see that in the natural I have no great qualities or strengths of my own to boast in.  What we see in Gideon is that sometimes it is people like us that are nothing in ourselves, but simply trust and love God, who are the ones he can use.  The Lord saw and spoke something into Gideon that he didn’t see or believe about himself. The reason God can use us nobodies in the world’s eyes, which are not particularly gifted, or smart or successful is because God has the opportunity to be the One who is mighty in us.  In verse 14, “Then the LORD himself said, ” Gideon, you will be strong, because I am giving you the power to rescue Israel from the Midianites.”  What I felt the Lord speaking into my heart was that your decision will not be without some adversities and trials, but I am your strength, your might and your provision is through Me in the midst of your adversity.  We really have no certainties in this life except our faith and confidence in our God and His truth.  Bottom line, what we must rely upon, is Him.   I know that in this fleshly mortal body of mine dwells no good thing.  I have nothing to brag about or boast in. Yours and my success in life comes from what we allow the Lord, our Christ, to be within and through us.  It is by his might that our enemies will fall and He will bring deliverance through us.  It is by His might that we will do things that in our natural man we would have never dreamed possible.  The key is that our eyes have to get off of the natural man and onto the spiritual man.  We have to walk in the peace of God for our lives.  We must walk in humility and a constant attitude of submission and obedience to His will and not our own.  Most of us won’t have an epiphany like Gideon did or hear an audible voice, but we must grow ever more attuned to that still small voice in our spirits that says, “this is the way, now walk in it.”  Often times God may say no to our request and close the doors and sometimes when He says Yes, it is hard to believe that He would bless us and give us the things that He does.  The only thing we know for certainty is that we want to be in the center of His will and purpose for our lives.  You may get a lot of opinions from others about what they think God’s will is for you, but only you can really hear, know and have the peace of God for what He wants for you.  It is good to have a multitude of counselors, but let God’s council be the final word.   

Gideon’s might was in the spiritual man he became as he put His confidence and obedience in the Lord.  Who I am isn’t dependent upon what I have been, it is dependent upon who I am becoming in Christ.  

Rest in God that He is allowing your life to be the instrument of His using and enabling.  It is relinquishment of your will to His, allowing Him to take your hand and your life to write with it the living words of His purpose and expression.  You learn to cease from your efforts and works and become comfortable in fully allowing the Holy Spirit’s direction through your life.

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

