Daily Bread

July 29, 2016

Exodus 16:14-20

When the dew was gone, thin flakes like frost on the ground appeared on the desert floor. 15 When the Israelites saw it, they said to each other, “What is it?” For they did not know what it was. 

Moses said to them, “It is the bread the LORD has given you to eat. 16 This is what the LORD has commanded: ‘Each one is to gather as much as he needs. Take an omer for each person you have in your tent.’ ” 17 The Israelites did as they were told; some gathered much, some little. 18 And when they measured it by the omer, he who gathered much did not have too much, and he who gathered little did not have too little. Each one gathered as much as he needed. 19 Then Moses said to them, “No one is to keep any of it until morning.” 20 However, some of them paid no attention to Moses; they kept part of it until morning, but it was full of maggots and began to smell. So Moses was angry with them. 

Daily Bread

God was so faithful to the Israelites in the wilderness that He supernaturally fed them with the bread of heaven.  He supplied it and it was up to them to gather it, but only what they would eat.  As the Lord has called me to do these writings each morning He has taught me this principle on a spiritual level.  He has shown me that the manna is still out there and if you are faithful to go and seek it, you will find it and it will feed your soul.  It has been a wonderful joy and privilege to see God’s faithfulness to impart some new thing each day as I wait upon Him and to be able to share that with the body of Christ in some measure.  The thing He teaches me is that it is nothing that I am or that I can produce, it is simply obeying and yielding to Him.  We are the expression of what He imparts to us and through us; in this case I am simply the pencil in His hand.  I know that the Holy Spirit knows each one of our hearts, what our needs are and what we are going through in our lives.  I know that while, what He is imparting may not be particularly for me it may be speaking directly to the heart of someone else.  Then there are other times that He is dealing directly with my heart and those that are reading just get to listen in.  The wonderful thing is that we all share like struggles and weaknesses, so when He is dealing with me, He is no doubt dealing with others also.  

I used to have a reserve of writings on hand so that if I didn’t get to write for some reason I could always send one out.  Then, I felt like the Lord was reminding me of this principle of daily gathering the bread and not trying to hold on to it or store it up.  He wanted me to give out what was fresh and relevant for that day and that hour.  So now we just write day by day.  

Remember that God always has something fresh for you.  It may be through something you read or through His Word, or even a word that He speaks into your heart, but open your heart to seek out His daily bread. There is some new thing He will impart to you each day, as you will wait upon Him.  It is what keeps our eyes upon Him as our supply and provision.  It is what keeps us from getting lean in our souls.  Act upon that fresh manna He has for you and be faithful to share it while it is fresh and new.  God is still giving us our daily bread.  

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

