A Lonely Pathway

July 20, 2016

Psalms 119:105

Thy word [is] a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. 

A Lonely Pathway

I walked a lonely pathway,

And thought I was alone, 

But I felt this presence with me, 

A presence not my own.

When I would become frightened,

I would find a peace was in the air,

When I became discouraged,

Encouragement came to me to share.

At first I thought no one really cared,

That only my strength would do,

But there, in my utter weakness,

I found my strength was You.

You lifted me up,

 When I stumbled and I fell,

You took away my darkness,

And delivered me out of my hell.

I wasn’t even looking,

When You found me all alone,

But you clothed me with Your love,

And You took me to Your home.

You fed me there at Your table,

From the loaf of bread and wine.

I discovered I was no longer by myself,

But I was Yours and You were mine.

I walked a lonely pathway,

But no longer am I alone,

You have become a light unto my path,

As Your ways to me You’ve shown.

Now I walk in the comfort of Your presence,

And no longer do I fear,

I know Your love surrounds me,

becauseYour Spirit is always here.

Kent Stuck

Leave a Reply

