Touch not the Unclean Thing

July 18, 2016

2 Corinthians 6 14-18

14Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? 15What harmony is there between Christ and Belial? What does a believer have in common with an unbeliever? 16What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God has said: “I will live with them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people.” 

Touch not the Unclean Thing

Yesterday my daughter called me.  She is a single mom with two sons, Josiah and Zion.  She asked me if I could talk with Josiah, as he was giving her a hard time.  She doesn’t allow him to watch and read things like Harry Potter, but he had checked out a book at the school library and read about four chapters when he brought it home and she confronted him about it.  Josiah is a very sensitive and precious guy, but he has this side about him that can become a very ugly and disagreeable attitude when it rises up.  I’ve given this spirit a name.  I call him Mr. Whiny.  I’m always telling Josiah he can come over, but he has to leave Mr. Whiny at home.  I’ve always instilled in Josiah that he is a man of God and he does love the Lord.  

When I began speaking to Josiah about the Harry Potter book, Mr. Whiny was very much present.  “Why can’t I read this book Grandpa?” he asked.  The first thing I asked Josiah was, “Josiah, who are you?”  He knew exactly what I was asking.  “Quietly he replied, “I’m a man of God.”  I began to share with him from today’s scripture about what fellowship has light with darkness and Christ with the devil or the things of darkness?  I asked him if went to church would he bring snakes, bugs, mice and things like that into the church?  He said, “no”.   I told him that he was the temple and sanctuary of the Lord and we have to be careful about what we bring into God’s temple.  

“But I want to read it”, he protested.

I explained that even things that don’t seem that bad, but are not in line with God’s word can open up access for spiritual darkness, compromise and deception to come into us.  I reminded him of Adam and how the serpent tempted him and it didn’t sound that bad, but his decision to yield to temptation, brought all of humanity into sin and death.  

Still, Josiah didn’t want to give up on reading the book.  I reminded him that God had placed people like his mom and myself in his life because He loved him so much.  “God wants the very best for you Josiah,” I reminded him.  When you rebel and want your way, it isn’t your mom or I that you are really rebelling against and disobeying, it is the Lord you are saying no, too.  I said you know that what I am saying is right, but you have to be willing to come into obedience to the Lord.  That is dying to yourself and putting God’s ways before your own.  Then I told him to pray about it and I said, “I know you will do the right thing.”

I think God uses correcting our children to speak to our own hearts.  I can remember many times correcting my children when they were growing up that I was feeling the conviction of the Holy Spirit as if He were saying, “Do you hear yourself and are you doing what you are telling them they should do?”  Most of us aren’t under our parents anymore, but we don’t want to become hardened in our hearts so that we can’t hear and respond to the Holy Spirit’s conviction about the things we do, think upon and participate in.  Many of us allow a lot of the world and the spirits of darkness into our mind and thinking, by what we watch, read and listen too.  We are not unlike little Josiah.  Even though we know what is right and wrong, we still want to do what we want to do.  Like Josiah we need to be reminded of who we are and the calling upon our lives.  

The Lord speaks to us today and He is saying to us, “Therefore come out from them and be separate, says the Lord. Touch no unclean thing, and I will receive you.  I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty. (2 Corinthians 6:17)”

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

