I Come to do Thy Will

April 22, 2016

I Come to do Thy Will

Hebrews 10:8-9

Above when he said, Sacrifice and offering and burnt offerings and [offering] for sin thou wouldest not, neither hadst pleasure [therein]; which are offered by the law.  Then said he, Lo, I come to do thy will, O God. He taketh away the first, that he may establish the second.

Do we live Old Testament or New Testament lives?  Do we live to please and appease our God or are we like our Lord who came to do His will.  Much of the Old Testament thinking was about pleasing God, making amends and sacrificing objects to Him.  It wasn’t the motions of keeping the Law that the Father longed for, it was the sacrifice of “will”.  When Jesus came into His ministry there were more than a few times he offended the religious people by not “keeping the law”.  What they didn’t comprehend is that this man was the fulfillment of the law.  He was what they could never be or ever accomplish, because of the inherent weakness of the creature that tried to live up to it.  Creatures weakened by a state of sinfulness.   It wasn’t through the offerings and burnt sacrifices that God took pleasure in, it was in the sacrifice of His Son that took away the first order to establish the second.  

We think of Calvary as being the sacrifice that Jesus offered, but it was only the consummation of the sacrifice of a life that “came to do Thy will.”  Romans 6:5 –7 says, “For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also [in the likeness] of [his] resurrection: Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with [him], that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.”  For he that is dead is freed from sin.”  When we became identified with Christ, we became identified with His death to sin.  Sin comes forth out of the will of man; therefore our will was crucified together with Christ that we might no longer live to the will of the flesh, but to the will of God.  We took up the identify of Christ in that “we came to do Thy will, oh God.”  King David caught the revelation of this truth in Psalm 40:6-8, “Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but my ears you have pierced; burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not require. 7 Then I said, “Here I am, I have come— it is written about me in the scroll. 8 I desire to do your will, O my God; 

your law is within my heart.” According to Exodus 21:6 if a servant willing gave himself to serve his master the rest of his life his ear was pierced to mark him as free will servant.  That is what we are called to become, free will servants, having offered our will for His, not my will, but Thine be done.  2 Corinthians affirms this calling upon our lives, “And [that] he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him whichdied for them, and rose again.”  Again, in Galatians 2:20 Paul defines the sacrificial life, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”

The Father is not looking for our offerings, our works and our tributes of religious service, He is looking for the hearts that are saying, “Here I am, I have come and I desire to do Your will, oh my God!”  The place I start is on my face, emptied of self and seeking You to fill me and order the steps my life each day

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

