Just Follow Me

February 2, 2016

John 8:12

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

 

Just Follow Me

 

               A while back my wife and daughter had left to go do something and I had my two grandsons 9 and 14 at the time.  I am always trying to think of ways that I can mentor and teach my grandchildren valuable lessons.  It is difficult at that age, because they are into their games and their own things, so I asked the Lord to give me some ideas.  Well they were both engaged in doing their own thing when I announced the command to get in the car because we are going someplace.  Immediately the question came, “Where are we going?” 

               I said, “You don’t know have to know where we are going you just have to get into the car so we can leave.” 

               Well, that wasn’t a sufficient enough answer so they continued to press me about where they were going. 

               I told them, “You know, there are times that God asks or speaks to us to go somewhere or to do something, but He doesn’t always tells us where or why.  He just asks us to trust and obey Him. We don’t always have to understand the “why” of God to do the will of God.”

               Anyway the boys were loaded in the car and away we went.  The first stop was the dollar store.  I asked the boys if they would like to go in with me.  They decided, no, they would stay in the car.  So I went in and bought some different kinds of candy for a project that was later to follow.  When I came back to the car with the candy the boys were disappointed that it wasn’t for them, but I explained if they had just followed me they could have gotten the candy of their choice.  I explained that when we choose not to follow Jesus  at times we can really miss out on the blessing. 

               The next stop, I took the boys to the drive through ice cream place.  As we were in the car line I gave the boys the opportunity to step out of the car and wait till after I got my ice cream cone and I would pick them up on the way out if they would like, so they didn’t have to go with me.  Well, needless to say, I didn’t have any volunteers for that offer.

               We purchased our ice cream cones and just set and talked as we ate them.  As we did, I was showing them the correlation of what we were doing and our walk with Jesus, how it was much the same.

               After we finished the ice cream and was headed in a homeward direction I pulled into a nursing home and rehabilitation center. 

               My oldest grandson asked if we were going to have to pray for people. 

               I answered, “I don’t know.  We are here on assignment for Jesus, so we’ll do whatever He would have us to do.” 

               Well, we went in and walked up to the desk.  I told the lady we had just come by to visit and encourage anyone that might be lonely or want some company.   I had also brought some candy to share with them. 

               She said that was sweet and said we could go into the community room where some were hanging out and visit with them.  So that is where we went. 

               We first visited with a woman whose daughter lived in town.  A very pleasant lady.

               We were then engaged by another lady standing in the corner of where a piano met the wall.  She was eating an ice cream cone and asked my oldest grandson what grade he was in and if he liked basketball.  This really caught his attention as she guessed his age and favorite sport. 

               This lady was 92 and moved here from Washington.  She had two boys that had gone through the Air Force Academy.  One was still an instructor there and they both lived here. 

We had a pleasant conversation in which my older grandson was quite involved.  This lady had been a high school teacher and was still pretty sharp.  Eventually she announced she needed to get back to her room. 

               An older man sat quietly at the table and so we attempted to strike up a conversation.  I offered some of the candy that I brought which peaked his interest and he gladly accepted.  I helped him with the candy wrapper, as I noticed he was missing a finger and his right hand was badly swollen.  I asked him if we could pray for his hand to which agreed and we just laid hands upon him and prayed for him. 

               About that time my daughter called.  They were back and she needed to get the boys, so we headed back home.   

               Through these simple little exercises I believe the boys could see there are blessing when we simply follow, trust and obey.  We don’t have to know why, have all the answers or the resources; all God asks of us is that we say yes to His direction.  He will provide the rest and often our way is filled with blessing and opportunity, along with the privilege to serve Him.

Blessings,

#kent 

Leave a Reply

