The Light that Draws Men out of Darkness

November 23, 2015

 

2 Timothy 4:2

Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine. 

The Light that Draws Men out of Darkness

Many of us are missing our importance in the economy of God.  We are often complacent with the fact that we have found Jesus and that we are saved.  We neglect the greater calling that we have to be a light in our world.  Thousands of souls pass by us on their way to hell and what are we doing to make a difference.  We could stand out on the street corner with our Bibles and cry out to people to repent and if that is what God has called you to do then you should do it.  The majority of us live average lives, doing ordinary things that everyone else does.  God has placed His lights all through the darkness, but if they never shine before men, how will people find their way?  

I’ll never forget when I was in college and I went to a function at a church.  As I was leaving I ran into a girl that I grew up with and used to hang around with in the neighborhood.   We spoke briefly and she had become a Christian, but she asked me a heartbreaking question, “Why didn’t you ever tell me about Jesus?”  How many people on their way to hell today would ask us that question today, “Why didn’t you ever tell me about Jesus?”  

On the other hand, I have seen people and friends with which we have shared Christ come to Him and have grown into wonderful Christian men and women.  Our lives are here to make a difference in our world.  God forgive me when I am so busy with me that I am willing to allow others to miss You because I didn’t represent you.  What kind of ambassador doesn’t represent his country and his king?  2 Corinthians 5:20 says, “Now then we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God did beseech [you] by us: we pray [you] in Christ’s stead, be ye reconciled to God.” 

We who are in Christ have the knowledge and understanding of salvation.  We may not be experts or have all of the answers, but we do have “The Answer”, and the responsibility to share Him with as many as he would give us opportunity too.  Sharing Christ doesn’t have to be hard.  It starts by just sharing His love, His concern and meeting people where they are.  It is not about trying to start out convincing them why their beliefs or their ways are wrong.  

I once was going to start telling a young man I used to work with all of the faults of his theology and the Lord spoke in my heart, “Just speak the truth, the truth will set him free.”  So many people that we come into contact with have needs and are hurting in one way or another, but they put on the veneer that everything is just fine like we all tend to do.  Start breaking through that surface veneer in people and find out who they are.  You and I are the expression of Christ in the earth and that puts the awesome responsibility on us to allow His light, His love and His life to flow through us.  

As you go through your day look for the opportunities that God places before you for ministry.  Be sensitive to the Holy Spirit so that He may use you and speak through you.  Be that light that draws men out of darkness and into the kingdom of God. 

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

