Who am I?

November 19, 2015

Romans 7:21-25

21So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. 24What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? 25Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord! 

So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.

Who am I?

Who am I beneath this flesh and bone?

I see so much of me and yet I say I am not my own.

Christ died to purchase me on that Cross of Calvary,

He paid the price for all my sin so now I can be free.

I gave my life to Him so many years ago,

But the Spirit life hasn’t always been lived with a steady even flow.

So many times I loose touch with who I really am,

Then I find myself, living out of myself again.

Who am I, this sinner for whom you died?

I thought I had fully repented, I even really cried.

But then I will find myself moved again to the root of selfish ways,

That which I thought was dead and gone will rise again to play.

Within my spirit, I know that there is none but only You,

But outwardly I too often live like that is not entirely true. 

I struggle Lord, with who I really am.

One day I am very spiritual and then I’m in the flesh again.

You know my frame Lord, that it is so very weak,

You know my heart Lord that it is you I long to seek.

Oh wretched man that I am, who shall deliver me?

I thank God, through Christ; He will set me free.

With mind and spirit I love and serve God’s law,

But the law of sin in my natural man wants to always make me fall.

By Christ’s power and grace I will continue to set my heart on Him,

And when I do fall or stumble, I know He will restore me in grace again.

I know He looks beyond my faults and sees my desperate need.

The need to be alive, well and from His Spirit life to feed.

It is in that Life, with my eyes continually fixed on Him,

That I will find His power and grace to walk above my sin.

Kent Stuck

Blessings,

#kent

Leave a Reply

