One More Chance

July 7, 2014

One More Chance

Revelations20:11-12
Then I saw a great white throne and him who was seated on it. Earth and sky fled from his presence, and there was no place for them. 12And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life. The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books.

I opened my eyes to this blinding light,
Glory and heavenly host filled the skies,
Resounding praise was all around,
I realized my earthly life had passed me by.

Oh, the awe and wonder that filled that place,
My mouth dropped open and my eyes were wide.
I couldn’t have imagined all the things I saw,
All of it was so real, as I stood now on the other side.

Heavenly greeters embraced my arms,
As they led me forth with angelic charm.
My knees would scarcely support my weight,
As they led me to my place of fate.

There stood there a brazen image of me,
As I looked into its eyes I began to see;
My life, my thoughts, my words and my heart,
Suddenly I was seeing every inward part.

At first I chuckled at how cute I was,
But then I began to see what God had seen in me.
The meanness, selfishness, so many ugly ways,
I began to weep and cry, how could this be?

How many times I turned away when others hurt,
How sensitive I was to only my wants and needs;
Oh, this darken selfish heart of mine,
How could I have planted such foolish seed?

I had thought I was such a good ole boy,
Now I saw what an offense my life had been;
I had hurt so many pursuing my joy,
My family and others I neglected and hurt through sin.

Oh God, wretched man that I am,
Could you ever forgive me and give me a chance again?
Then a voice spoke with such love and power,
“Return and live out the repentance of your sin.”

Suddenly my eyes opened in a hospital room.
Attendants were in shock as I set up in that bed.
“Where am I,” I said, bewildered and confused.
“You had a heart attack and we pronounced you dead”

God gave a second chance to me
I no longer see life through a selfish heart of greed,
The next time I go to meet that great and Holy One,
I’ll have a good account to give to His Son.

No longer is my life all about me,
Unto Him my will I freely give;
For I know, that by His blood alone I’m free.
Through the power of His life within, I live.

Now I live each day as if it were my last,
I know that next time the die will be firmly cast.
My life is now no longer my own to please,
“But whom the Son sets free, is free indeed.”

Kent Stuck

Blessings,
#kent

Leave a Reply

